Blogging in the valleys

So we safely arrived to our new campground on Saturday despite some uniquely small curvy roads overlooking a giant river.  This campground is a bit different from the last few, it’s difinatively smaller, more rustic, a few more full timers of all varieties (tent campers and lodge dwellers) and there a huge rushing river in our backyard.  And it’s been raining kind of a lot (and the river’s been rising, but you know, no big deal).  Really what I’m saying is, I’m not all that comfortable with this campground as maybe I was at the last.  So it’s moments like these God uses to point out when my hope’s in the wrong thing.  I mean come on, I just wrote you a whole post about it last time and then fell off the writing mojo train.  So I’ve been quietly reading my bible and a marriage book I’ve been going through without any mind altering revelations.  And I’ve been waiting on some Godly wisdom in regards to this mothering stuff, especially since Levi seems to be kicking it up a notch.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The Nolichucky River
The bank
The bank
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The view from our window, that brown thing out there is the river

And then I was reminded of something from my Ephesians study, my true identity.  God says in Ephesians 1 that I am blessed with every spiritual blessing (like the complete package), chosen adopted, redeemed, and marked.  With so much right there in this sentence it’s hard to imagine focusing on all my awkward surrounding issues.  Paul goes on to say in Ephesians 1:7-8  “In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us.” When asked to paraphrase this section I liked thinking of God as a cheerful giver of grace.  Man, I’m sure glad of that today, I’m in need of some hearty helpings of grace! 

How do you deal with spiritual valley’s? Do you take a quick self examination? Do you get back to basics? Do you get on your knees? Do you revive yourself with your favorite biblical truths?  Well those are some of my tactics.  I’ve been surprised with how God has shown me specific mercies today through blogs and posts and through my preparations for my last bible study with two sweet women (in which we have been studying Ephesians).  So in times like these I’m glad God’s not finished with me yet.  And it’s likely that if you are reading this, He’s not finished with you either.

From the Valley of the Smoky Mountains,

Big Rig Rose

ps Since I didn’t publish this at naptime when I wrote it, we have decided to move campgrounds in the morning due to a possible threat of flooding and getting trapped at the campground.  Given our track record with close calls and flooding, it seems like a good idea all around.  🙂 Pray for us, an uber small bridge awaits us on the way out!

One thought on “Blogging in the valleys

  1. dallenharkinsgmailcom October 1, 2015 / 1:43 am

    You have been on my mind all day, so I am glad to read this tonight. Prayers for your easy retreat tomorrow. Keep us updated on where you land, when you have a moment. Much love to all of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

