The lie of the perfect life

Our current camp site in Mt. Airy, NC
Our current camp site in Mt. Airy, NC

So in my blog I’ve set out to be transparent and honest with you about myself and the RVing life.  Sometimes I hear people idealize living or traveling in an RV and I want to be honest that although I’m seeing a lot of positive things about this lifestyle, it’s not some picturesque fantasy of the perfect life.  Yes there are lots of amazing things about living this way and I do plan on writing the next blog entry on our top pros and cons but I want to make sure we are on the same page first.  The thing is, no one’s life is perfect.  As a follower of Christ, there are (at least) four reasons God gives me to help prepare me that my life (as his follower) won’t be perfect.

First and foremost I’m a sinner.  Let me just let you know right here I’ve fallen short of the glory of God.  You’ve what? Well it’s like this, “There is no one righteous, not even one… all have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one. Their throats are open graves; their tongues practice deceit. The poison of vipers is on their lips. Their mouths are full of cursing and bitterness.  Their feet are swift to shed blood; ruin and misery mark their ways,  and the way of peace they do not know. There is no fear of God before their eyes.” (Romans 3: 11-18) Well that is a definition of me and all people without God.  We want our own way and we do and say things to achieve our goals.  So inevitably this self motivated path in life leads each person to disobey God’s plan for us and we go our own way (this, friends is called sin).  Well even though I’ve come to have a relationship with God through Jesus Christ, I’m still a sinner.  So I still choose my own way sometimes and this leads to a number of (self inflicted or other such) difficulties. And usually difficulties means imperfect in my mind.

That brings me to my next point, God’s definition of perfect is not the same as my definition.  My definition is probably something like: when everything goes exactly as I see it in my mind’s eye, with no wrinkles, snafoo’s, ugliness, or sadness, the best case scenario in every possible way.  God’s definition of perfect is more like obeying the will of God with all your heart, mind and strength without deviation even amidst pain, suffering, loss, happiness, gain and changing life circumstances.  This should be no surprise to me for two reasons: One, in Isaiah 55:9 God says that “For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” So God’s ways are not like my ways (this is both excellent news and challenging news as sometimes it does lead to confusion on my part since God doesn’t think like me). And two, because when Jesus who lived on earth as both 100% God and 100% man, he was the only person to ever live a perfect life, meaning he never sinned or chose to follow his own will instead of God the Father’s. This is what 1 John 3:5 said “you know that he (Jesus) appeared in order to take away sins, and in him there is no sin.” Jesus had to come to save us because we could never live the perfect life.  Also when you think about it Jesus’ life circumstances weren’t very perfect, he was hated by much of the Jewish population, his own brothers doubted his authenticity and he was beaten and killed at a young age. Oh yeah, sometimes I forget about those points when I just want my life to be easy and fun.

Ultimately while I’m masquerading as a citizen of the United States of America I’m really a citizen of Heaven.  As Paul says in Philippians 3:20-21 “our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.” In heaven, things will be God’s definition of perfect but here on earth God lets me know that in this life I “will have trouble” (see John 16:33).  So I should not be surprised when I do.

God’s goal for my life here on earth is sanctification.  What? That means that while sometimes I think my goal is to keep a clean house and raise a pleasant man-child and be a kind wife and not go broke, the real goal of my life is to become more like Jesus, to be made holy like God.  Well, God you and I have a lot of work to do then, because I’m a long way off! 😉 So it really shouldn’t surprise me when I find myself in challenging situations because He’s trying to grow me just like James 1:2-8 says. So I can rejoice in my imperfect life and you can too!

I think the reason why God annunciates these points so clearly is that my human brain is naturally inclined to love comfort and ease and our own ideas of perfection.  Well you know now, that that whole second half of that sentence is a lie.  So when I say good stuff about my physical life you can kind of ‘take it with a grain of salt’ and when I say something about my spiritual life, that’s the real deal. Okay now that we are on the same page, I’ll get you that pro con list, hopefully with pictures. 🙂

With love and imperfection,

Big Rig Rose

2 thoughts on “The lie of the perfect life

  1. Lynne Nivica September 2, 2015 / 9:25 am

    Oh, Kerry! Praise God! I love you!

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. Samantha September 6, 2015 / 12:35 am

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

