To Mayberry, Part 1 of 4

So we are finally going to go somewhere other than having our RV serviced, Lord willing!!

Our first stop is a brisk 3 hours to Starke, FL.  I know it’s probably a very busy place with lots to do how will we ever fit it into one day?  Well it’s true we are only going to stay for one day and I’m not going to lie I’m pretty pumped we booked pull-thrus.  For you non-RVers that means we don’t have to back into our spot at the next several campgrounds because we can just pull straight into the spot and pull out of it in the morning when we are ready to roll again.  I think getting the RV in just the right spot is the hardest part of RVing (so far). I’m still getting used to the hitched/trailer aspect of our RV, I’m more accustomed to the motorhome feel of parking a big vehicle, but hopefully that will get easier as we go.

On a side note, there is a lot of humility necessary in parking both the truck and the RV.  Do you know how hard it is to get the truck into regular parking spots? Like when I went to the mall the other day and it started to rain a whole lot- your insides want you to park close to the mall and your head is all like, you have to park far away so you can take up a bunch of parking spaces and not be so rude.  I think the truck needs two regular spaces and sometimes four to park comfortably/well.  Really? 4 spaces? Yes people. It’s big.  I went to the doctor’s office today and almost made it into one spot! I was so excited and then I looked in my mirror and realized one (of my 6 tires) was hanging over the line. Bummer. And double bummer there was a dude sitting in his SUV diagonally across from me (watching) so in order to get inside the line I would have to back in and out probably another 6 times.  Today I wasn’t as humble as I could have been, I caved and called it good enough and got my sleeping child out of the truck and left the one tire hanging out there till we finished with our check up.

It’s a very similar situation with the RV only bigger and more sweat involved when parking.  So pull thru’s- YAY! So we are staying at a KOA and I’m very interested to see this Kampgrounds of America (KOA)  because they are kind of pricey and supposedly very kid friendly.  I’m hoping the hype is accurate 🙂

I’m not sure what the internet situation will be or how four days in a row of traveling will go so we’ll see how much real time blogging happens.  But the plan is to go from Tampa, FL to Starke, FL to Hardeeville, South Carolina to Fort Mill, North Carolina to Mt. Airy, North Carolina.

Something old, something new
In case you forgot how big the truck is.

Also we did big a fond farewell to my favorite sweet Scion yesterday (pictured above).  She’s on to her next adventure too.  🙂

Pray for us!

Big Rig Rose

2 thoughts on “To Mayberry, Part 1 of 4

  1. Rachel August 26, 2015 / 11:18 pm

    Have fun, sweet friend, on this first leg of the adventure (and beyond). Tons of hugs goodbye… you are missed already! We were out-of-town during the big farewell party held in your honor. Not gonna lie, I was sad we couldn’t say goodbye in person. Nevertheless, I’m looking forward to following along with each future post!

    Like

  2. Samantha August 27, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    On top of the fact that your truck is “oh-so-big”… You are kinda petite!! It’s like if I drove a semi! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

