Urgency!

urgent

Do you ever feel a sense of urgency? Well I don’t know about you but my urgency usually is the first step to verbal inappropriateness- you know, like anger, disrespect, impatience, careless words, wrong thoughts, thinking the worst of others, do you need more? (because I’m sure I could come up with more, but I’ll stop there).

My urgency comes out of my heart and mouth when I think I’m not being heard (sometimes because I literally wasn’t heard and have to repeat myself), when I feel action is critical and I’m asking for someone to quick! jump in and help, or when my inside passionate thoughts come out and become passionate words.  Oh that last one, is such a long lasting habit.  How long have I been speaking passionately? Mom? Like a long time.  You know, it’s funny to say, oh see, I’m Italian, we are a passionate people.  But that’s a terrible excuse.  Saying I’m ‘speaking passionately’ is a lazy way of me saying, “I care a lot about this thing and since I care so much I just lost all self control and let the volume of my voice and the speed of my words get far too cranked up.” See it’s faster to say I’m “speaking passionately”.  But it’s a nifty label for an ugly thing.

So how do I undo my passion?  With any sin problem you are probably better off finding the root of the problem than just the end behavior.  Brian Hedges in his book, Licensed to Kill says, If we want to kill sin, we must aim at the right target.  That target is not merely bad behavior but the sinful desires of the heart that produce the behavior.  Mortifying sin will certainly bring about changes in what we say and do, but we need more than external reformation.  Many people change their behavior without changing their heart to any significant degree.  But Jesus is concerned about the root and motivation of sinful behavior- our drives and desires- not simply the behavior itself. ”

I speak passionately because I think I’m right and I feel urgency because I want things to be my way.  Those friends are alternative words ways to describe pride.  But am I right? Am I in control? Nope.  Jesus is the Lord of my life and if I’m trying to do things my way and not his way, I’m walking on my own path and not the path of righteousness.  I’m desiring to be King of my Kingdom of one.  Ouf, that’s dangerous.  My need to be right and in control is a wrong drive and desire, that’s what needs to change.  Those desires have been allowed to grow in me for a long time so I’m going to have to roll up my sleeves,  get out the sword of the spirit and get praying.  You can keep me accountable, just be gentle friends, there’s lots of weeds to find.

So, did you just write a whole post about non-RVing? Well yeah, but I’ll leave you with this.  You remember last week when I said God evaporated every Dodge Ram in our area?  Well today I read that there is a MASSIVE recall/buyback on 2009 to 2012 Rams because “the pickups have defective steering parts that can cause drivers to lose control. Some previous repairs have been unsuccessful, so Fiat Chrysler agreed to the buyback”.  And all this was announced yesterday.  Geez, God, I think you are better at being in control.  I’ll let you take it from here.  If you are a Ram owner here’s the link to the article I quoted above.  LINK

Well how about you? What causes you to lose self control? Have you traced it back to it’s roots? I love talking through sin, so you know, if you need a sounding board, I’m here for you.

Off to D&D’s B&B today.  🙂 Hope the truck fits in their driveway!

-Big Rig Rose

One thought on “Urgency!

  1. Lynne R. Nivica July 27, 2015 / 10:59 pm

    Keep being led, Keri-Rose. God is your Soverein, Loving Father. He is molding you. And that is the real purpose in every “test”. You are loved!

    Like

Leave a Reply

